Executive Committee

Senior Leaders

Scott Lippman, MD
Moores Cancer Center Director

Razelle Kurzrock, MD
Director, Division of Clinical Science
Sr. Deputy Director for Clinical Science

Napoleone Ferrara, MD
Director, Division of Basic Science
Sr. Deputy Director for Basic Science

Thomas Kipps, MD, PhD
Deputy Director for Research

Barbara Parker, MD
Medical Director
Deputy Director for Clinical Affairs

John Pierce, PhD
Director, Division of Population Science

Nicholas Webster, PhD 
Associate Director for Shared Resources

Ira Goodman, MS, MPA 
Associate Director for Administration

Other MCC, SDSU Leaders

David Cheresh, PhD
Innovation and Industry Alliances

Stephen Howell, MD
Research Education and Training

Georgia Sadler, BSN, MBA, PhD
Community Outreach

Jean Wang, PhD
Campus-wide Basic Science

Karen Messer, PhD

Ted Ball, MD
Blood and Marrow Transplant

Steven Plaxe, MD
Gynecologic Oncology

John Elder, PhD, MPH
SDSU Representative/RCD Co-Leader


Ex Officio

Webster Cavenee, PhD 
Director, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research

Gary Firestein, MD
Director, Clinical and Translational Research Institute

A.J. Mundt, MD
Chair, Radiation Medicine and Applied Sciences

Christopher J. Kane, MD
Interim Chair, Department of Surgery

Steven Gonias, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Pathology