About Us

Disease Team Leaders

Bone Marrow Transplant

Edward Ball, MD Leader: Edward D. Ball, MD
Professor of Medicine
858-822-6600
tball@ucsd.edu
Grace Ku, MD Associate Leader: Grace H. Ku, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
858-822-6600
gku@ucsd.edu

Breast Cancer

Anne Wallace, MD Leader: Anne Wallace, MD
Professor of Clinical Surgery
858-822-6193
amwallace@ucsd.edu
Richard Schwab, MD Associate Leader: Richard Schwab, MD
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-822-0442
rschwab@ucsd.edu

Central Nervous System

Santosh Kesari, MD Leader: Santosh Kesari, MD, PhD
Professor or Neurosciences
858-822-7778
skesari@ucsd.edu
Bob Carter, MD Associate Leader: Bob S. Carter, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurosurgery
858-822-4500
bobcarter@ucsd.edu

Colorectal Surgery

Sonia Ramamoorthy, MD Leader: Sonia L. Ramamoorthy, MD, FACS, FASCRS
Associate Professor of Surgery
858-822-6277
sramamoorthy@ucsd.edu
Kelly Shimabukuro, MD Associate Leader: Kelly A. Shimabukuro, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
858-822-3115
kshimabukuro@ucsd.edu

Cutaneous Oncology/Sarcoma

Gregory Daniels, MD Leader: Gregory A. Daniels, MD, PhD
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-534-3804
gdaniels@ucsd.edu
Joel M. Baumgartner, MD Associate Leader: Joel M. Baumgartner, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery
858-534-1301
j1baumgartner@ucsd.edu

Experimental Therapeutics

Razelle Kurzrock, MD Leader: Razelle Kurzrock, MD
Professor of Medicine
858-822-6809
rkurzrock@ucsd.edu
Tony Reid, MD, PhD Associate Leader: Tony Reid, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
858-822-6440
trreid@ucsd.edu

Gastro-Intestinal

Andrew Lowy, MD Leader: Andrew M. Lowy, MD, FACS
Professor of Surgery
858-822-2124
alowy@ucsd.edu
Paul Fanta, MD, MS Associate Leader: Paul T. Fanta, MD, MS
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-822-7973
pfanta@ucsd.edu

Genito Urinary

Karim Kader, MD, PhD Leader: Karim Kader, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Surgery
858-822-7874
kkader@ucsd.edu
Frederick Millard, MD Associate Leader: Frederick Millard, MD
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-822-6185
fmillard@ucsd.edu

Gynecology

Steven Place, MD Leader: Steven Plaxe, MD
Professor of Reproductive Medicine
858-822-6199
splaxe@ucsd.edu
Catheryn Yashar, MD Associate Leader: Catheryn M. Yashar, MD
Associate Professor
858-246-1502
cyashar@ucsd.edu

Head & Neck/ Melanoma

Ezra Cohen, MD Leader: Ezra Cohen, MD
Professor of Medicine
858-822-5800
ecohen@ucsd.edu
Kevin Brumund, MD Associate Leader: Kevin T. Brumund, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery
858-822-6197
kbrumund@ucsd.edu

Hematology

Thomas J. Kipps, MD, PhD Leader: Thomas J. Kipps, MD, PhD
Distinguished Professor of Medicine
858-534-5400
tkipps@ucsd.edu
Erin Reid, MD Associate Leader: Erin G. Reid, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
858-822-6276
egreid@ucsd.edu

Lung

Lyudmila Bazhenova, MD Leader: Lyudmila A. Bazhenova, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
858-822-6189
lbazhenova@ucsd.edu
Ajay Sandhu, MD Associate Leader: Ajay Sandhu, MD, DMRT
Clinical Professor
858-855-6062
apsandhu@ucsd.edu

Palliative/Pain Care

William Mitchell, MD Leader: William Mitchell, MD
Assistant Professor
858-822-6280
wmmitchell@ucsd.edu
Mark Wallace, MD Associate Leader: Mark S. Wallace, MD
Clinical Professor
858-657-7030
mswallace@ucsd.edu

Pediatrics

William D. Roberts, MD Leader: William D. Roberts, MD
Clinical Professor
858-966-5811
wiroberts@ucsd.edu
Kevin Murphy, MD Associate Leader: Kevin Murphy, MD
Associate Professor
858-822-4271
kevinmurphy@ucsd.edu

Psychosocial/Psychiatry

Scott A. Irwin, MD, PhD Leader: Scott A. Irwin, MD, PhD
Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
858-822-5381
sirwin@ucsd.edu
Jeremy Hirst, MD Associate Leader: Jeremy Hirst, MD
858-822-5381
jhirst@ucsd.edu