About Us

Business Office

The Business Office provides services for faculty and their staff, as well as for Moores Cancer Center's administration office. Services include contract and grants administration, management of clinical trials, department budgets, and oversight of shared resource facilities.

Services

Pre-award grants administration
  • Provide salary projections
  • Assist in the completion of agency budget forms
  • Interpret agency guidelines
  • Review proposals for completeness, including agency and UC San Diego forms
  • Internal signature routing of proposals
  • Submission to UC San Diego Office of Contracts & Grants or School of Medicine Dean's Office

Post-award grants administration

  • Funds management and monitoring
  • Process and approve all expenditures (purchase orders/requisitions, travel, express cards, recharges)
  • Provide monthly reports showing year-to-date and projected balances
  • Prepare close-out reports for UC San Diego Office of Post Award and Financial Services (OPAFS)
  • Grants management advice (allowable costs, re-budgeting, carryover balances, grant extensions)  
  • Inactivate and close out contracts and grants

Clinical trials review

  • Clinical Trial Service Agreement budgets
  • Route Agreements for departmental signatures
  • Manage funds and prepare monthly reports showing year-to-date and projected balances
  • Prepare annual budgets

Shared resources

  • Develop rates for services performed
  • Maintain the Shared Resources database
  • Provide billing services to all users
  • Generate service utilization reports
  • Provide business plans
  • Manage fund and prepare monthly reports showing year-to-date and projected balances
  • Prepare annual budgets

Contacts

 Director, Business Office  
Sonia Ashley 858-822-0474 scashley@ucsd.edu 
Xinjie Ge 858-822-1218  xge@ucsd.edu
Michelle Ghani 858-822-1390 mghani@ucsd.edu
Fund Managers    
Li Song 858-822-2693 l3song@ucsd.edu
Elizabeth Brost 858-822-2045 ebrost@ucsd.edu
Jennifer Paolini 858-822-2125 jpaolini@ucsd.edu
Obdulia (Ruth) Thompson 858-822-5435 othompson@ucsd.edu